09
Feb
10

AH in Spijkenisse (post from a reader)

Hey,

After reading on your site I had the urge to also write something small to you.

I live in Spijkenisse, Zuid-Holland, we have a AH at the shopping centre called “’t Plateau” it’s not too big but it’s convenient. A couple of year ago, like 5 if I remember correctly the management changed from a franchise to a Ahold (AH’s holding) owned store. Since then the quality of the store started to deteriorate…

At the moment me and my friends call this AH, Albert Heijn Russia, because I really feel like I landed in communistic Soviet Union when I walk in to that store. When there’s something in the shelves it’s only on or 2 items and overtime less and less different products are available at the store.

The fresh bread is gone somewhere early in the afternoon and for something fresh on your sandwich you have to get it sliced fresh at the counter because for example the roast beef is brown instead of red. Also basic stuff from major brands simply isn’t there, the cola is almost always gone, the good brands pizza are never stocked and products of major brands they carried in the past are disappearing without a trace. Last summer they didn’t have Ice thee in stock for over a month and even after complaining they didn’t order extra or anything. The veggies or any fresh stuff looks dead before it arrives there so I will never buy that again…

What did I do about it, I talked to the staff, I talked to the management and to AH customer service, they all promised me that it will be better but I don’t think that will happen and I always feel like a dick when complaining.

Nowadays, when I want to do big/weekend shopping I drive to a Jumbo like 20 minutes away instead of the AH only a minute away.

Best of luck


4 Responses to “AH in Spijkenisse (post from a reader)”


  1. 1 Paul
    February 9, 2010 at 19:37

    I shop at AH in Amsterdam at Jodenbreestraat/JW Meijersplein. These stories all apply for that store. But now the worst: I thought it was normal!

    That shelves are empty, goods are spilled over the floor, personel does not work, speak only bad Dutch, that there are no shopping baskets, vegetables are over time and that you do not buy meat there.
    Now I wonder, who buys this meat? Or do they throw it away after a month? Is there a self destructing system put in place to AH stores, for ruining the stock prices?

  2. 2 De echte Wim Heitinga
    February 9, 2010 at 20:41

    And not only that, everytime you want to buy cigarettes, there’s a line that looks like a war just broke out. But the worst thing is that the friendly elderly leftwing scum woman in front of me (there’s always one in front of me for some reason) doesn’t even want to buy cigarettes when it’s her turn. She just wants to complain that the AH ran out a “bonusaanbieding” and that she demands a coupon that will allow her to get the same 15 cent discount next time she’ll come in. It takes aprox 25 minutes for her to be first in line and then she’ll take another 25 minutes to yell at the completely uninterested young northafrican woman who hasn’t got a clue what that woman is talking about because it’s all in dutch. Every AH should have a special chamber for fuckers like that, a chamber that they can close of and fill with gas. Bloody hell, I just want my cigarettes!

  3. 3 Erp
    February 16, 2010 at 17:59

    Did you assholes ever thought about the fact that like a million people shop there every month and it’s one of the most crowded supermarkets per m2 in Europe? Why do you think that is?

  4. 4 Kristīne
    November 12, 2010 at 16:40

    Seriously, you seem like a bunch of retards.
    Doesn’t seem like the person calling a shop that only has few items in the shelf Soviet Russia has ever actually been in Soviet countries whatsoever. You have no idea what it’s like to have to wait in a queue whole day long just to get a piece of sausage. THAT is Soviet Russia. Not the fact that during the certain period of day you can’t get all different kinds of bread. You can go there tomorrow and buy it for the whole month. So stop using words you have now idea their meaning is.
    Think about how lucky you are that you HAVE choice and you CAN buy everything you want (even though you’ll maybe have to go there another day).
    And, btw, I shop in AH nearly every day, often in evenings, and there always is at least some kind of bread left.


Leave a Reply

